Dealing With Devils – Part 1

The office was a small, cramped affair on the river but the building was older than the country in which is rested so a bit of tightness in the architecture could be tolerated. Thrift, they called it. It was easy to heat, especially since they put in the new insulation and windows. A woman sat behind the desk, a young man fidgeting in front of her almost nervously.
“Ma’am, I thought we were all squared away.” Nervously, he fidgeted with the cap in his hands. “I paid up years ago and…and I’ve still got the copy of the contract that you gave me.”
He would have continued on if she hadn’t raised her hand then.
“William, we’re fine on that score. I assure you. But…well, I know this is a bit unorthodox, but I need a favor.”
His face went pale under its summer pink.
“A…favor, Ma’am?”
She nodded solemnly and slid a file folder across the desk, keeping one hand firmly holding it down.
“I have a bit of a situation that I think suits your skills rather well. An escapee who needs to be…reacquired.”
“Ma’am?”
She pushed her glasses back up her nose, red eyes glinting as she looked at him.
“You were a tracker, were you not, Private O’Halloran?”
He straightened slightly.
“I was, Ma’am. But that was…near to a hundred sixty years ago. A lot’s changed since I tracked rebels… What needs tracking? Is it…human?”
“He…was. Now, he is an escaped soul and I believe that not only would it suit me for him to be returned, but that you would very much enjoy hunting him personally.” She paused. “And, if you were to complete the mission, I would be willing to return your soul to you and amend the clause in your contract stipulating your eternal damnation.”
The young man frowned slowly, his eyes on the packet.
“Who?”
“I believe you know him. Captain Henry Wirz, the commander of Camp Su-”
He cut her off, eyes distant and remembering.
“Andersonville.”
When she spoke, her voice was surprisingly gentle.
“Yes. Andersonville.”
“You have yourself a deal, Ma’am.”
He held out his hand to shake on it and she took his hand, gripping it firmly.
“Excellent. Let me just get out the proper forms and we’ll just make it all official.”

Leave a Reply

