Delicious

There’s a place out in the hills where there’s a tree bent to form an arch, just by a pond. That was where I met her. She was sitting by the water quietly playing an old acoustic guitar. I had been out for a hike, my pack still on. I was looking at my GPS when I heard the sound. It had started to go on the fritz about five minutes prior and I’d been worried I’d get lost out here without it. When I heard the music, I slipped the device back into a pocket and held my hand up in greeting.
“Hi!”
She turned, startlement clear on her face.
“Sorry, I didn’t mean to scare you. I just wasn’t expecting to see anyone else out here.”
She stood slowly, setting the guitar on the rock, and stepped towards me. It wasn’t until then that I processed that her ears came to long points and that her eyes were a pure gold.
“Hello, mortal boy.”
I gulped, not sure if maybe I wasn’t more dehydrated than I thought. I could be hallucinating. She reached out to touch my cheek, a smile on her face.
“You seem scared, pretty mortal boy.”
I took a breath, trying to get my racing heart back under control.
“I’m…I’m not a-”
She looked me up and down in a way that was half curious and half flirtatious.
“Not in body, but you are in your mind, are you not?”
I took a step back. How had she known that? I hadn’t told anyone yet. That’s why I was out here alone, trying to figure out how to tell them.
“Stay with me, pretty mortal boy, and I will sing for you and you can be happy with me.”
It was tempting, oh so tempting.
“What about my…family? My friends?”
She shrugged, clearly not caring.
“No doubt they will believe that the girl-you-are-now died in the woods alone. So sad. And you would stay here as my prince.”
I shook my head fiercely.
“I can’t do that to them.”
She laughed coldly.
“Did you not come here to kill the girl you are?”
I clenched my fists.
“Not like that.”
“They will hurt still.”
“You don’t know that.”
“I know mortals, pretty mortal boy. I remember the fires.”
I shoved her back.
“You don’t know anything.” And then I spoke again. “I won’t stay here. I know what I need to do now and I’m doing it.”
I turned on my heel and strode off, half expecting her to stop me. Instead, I heard her speak softly, a smile in her voice.
“Wise choice. Though, I imagine you would have been delicious.”

Leave a Reply

